University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota
http://www.umn.edu/
612-625-5000

Resources


Identification Documents

Drivers License

Please note that international students and scholars are not required to obtain either a Minnesota State I.D. or a Minnesota Driver’s License. If you want to drive in Minnesota, you can use your home country’s driving permit for 60 days after arrival then you will need to obtain a MN drivers license.

International Driving Permit:
An International Driving Permit is not a driver's license. The permit only verifies that you hold a valid driver's license in your home country. Your home country/foreign driver's license, not the International Driving Permit, allows you to drive legally in Minnesota. You are not required to have an International Driving Permit to drive in Minnesota. However, the permit verifies, in several languages, that you have a valid foreign driver's license. A police officer who cannot read the language on your foreign driver's license can read the permit. If you plan to use your foreign driver's license to drive in MN, we recommend that you apply for the International Driving Permit before leaving your home country. A final note: Different states have different rules. What applies in Minnesota may not apply in other states. If you are unable to get an International Driving Permit and your foreign driver's license is not in English, you may want to carry an official Minnesota Certified translation (which you can obtain from a licensed translator).

Please Note: You are required to change to a MN Driver's License within 60 days of establishing (temporary) residency in MN.

Minnesota Driver License:
According to the State of Minnesota law, a resident of another country can get a Minnesota driver license. To obtain a Minnesota driver's license, you must pass a road sign test, a vision test, and a driving test.

The first step is to prepare for the written test and road sign test by studying the Minnesota Driver's Manual.

To obtain additional information go to a driver's license exam substation.

Metro testing stations
(call for hours and appointment availability)
35WN & Co. Rd. I, Arden Hills, (651) 639-4057
2070 Cliff Rd., Eagan, (651) 388-1870
2455 Fernbrook Lane, Plymouth, (612) 341-3401
530 W. Main St., Anoka, (612) 422-3401

MN Driver and Vehicle Services
(651) 296-6911

For a copy of a Minnesota Driver's Manual write to
Driver and Vehicle Services
455 Minnesota St.
St. Paul, MN 55101
Minnesota Department of Public Safety website

Identification Requirements
To apply for a Minnesota driver′s license, identification card, or instruction permit, you must present one primary and one secondary form of identification. Please check the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services website to find out what identification documents you need to present.

The identification document must contain your full legal name (first, middle, and last) and the month, day, and year of your birth. Please note that University of Minnesota′s official transcript does not contain your date of birth. Make sure to request an additional certification letter that will indicate your full name as it appears on your immigration documents and date of birth. You can request the official transcript and a certification letter that contains your birth date at Onestop office.

You are also required to present proof of your lawful admission period, such as a form I-20, DS-2019, I-797, or other official immigration document or receipt.

Drivers License Renewal:
If you are an international student or scholar, you will have a Status Check date on your Drivers License. This date reflects the expiration date on your 1–20/DS–2019/I–797 document. Before that date, you must go to the Drivers License renewal office and present a copy of a new or extended visa status document. (H-1B status holders can use an original USCIS extension receipt to apply for a temporary extension.) You will be asked to fill out a new application. If you do this before the Status Check date, you will not be charged a fee.

You are supposed to receive a letter from the Department of Public Safety, but if you don’t, you are still responsible for going to the Drivers License Renewal Station before the date of your status check. If you do not do this, you will have to pay for a new Drivers License. In addition, if you are caught driving past the date of your status check (including during the grace period at the end of your program) you may be arrested or cited and fined.

GPS